IYCr2014 South Asia Summit Declaration

The IYCr2014 South Asia Summit Declaration took the form of an Appeal letter, with 53 signatories, addressed to the President of the IUCr. This letter is published below.

[Signing the declaration]
Initial signatories of the Summit Declaration. Seated at table (from left): M. Iqbal Choudhary, Pinakpani Chakrabarti, Zhie Jie Liu, Atta-ur-Rahman.


29th April, 2014

Prof. Gautam Desiraju
International Union of Crystallography

Dear President:

We are pleased to report that the IYCr South Asia Summit Meeting on Vistas in Structural Chemistry in Karachi, Pakistan during April 28-30, 2014, has provided us an opportunity to extensively discuss and review the status of education and research in X-ray diffraction sciences in various countries and in the region.

Over 380 senior researchers and young students from some 22 countries have participated in the event. Many of us were engaged in extensive discussions focusing on the promotion of regional and international cooperation in the field of X-ray diffraction/crystallography/drug design and discovery, in line with the objectives of the International Year of Crystallography.

Through this letter, we request the IUCr to initiate actions to promote regional scientific collaboration including joint holding of training workshops, video-based lecturing, encouraging mobility of researchers, promoting joint research projects, leveraging national bodies and institutions for financial support and facilitating regional conferences on the subject of X-ray diffraction and its applications in the South Asian and East Asian regions.

With very best regards

Sincerely yours

Download the Summit declaration in pdf format

Atta-ur-RahmanKarachi University
Pinak ChakrabartiBose Institute, India;
President, AsCA
Zhi Jie LiuShanghai Tech. University
M. Iqbal ChoudharyICCBS, Karachi, Pakistan
Siddhartha P. SarmaIISc, Bangalore
Christian BetzelUniversity Hamburg, Germany
Ram VishwakarmaI.I.I.M. CSIR
P. K. BharadwajIIT Kanpur
M. Aslam BaigNCP Islamabad
C. M. AshrafRSC Pakistan (Section Lahore)
Bohari M. YaminUniv. Kebangsann Malaysia
Ashwini NangiaUniv. Hyderabad
Kumar BiradhaIIT, Kharagpur
Kevin RobertsUniversity of Leeds, UK
Vinitha M. ThadhaniI. Chem, Sri Lanka
Sammer YousufIIEJRIC (ICCBS)
Dr M. Nawaz TahirUniversity of Sargodha
Maqsood AhmedThe Islaimia University of Bahawalpur, Pakistan
Abdul Rauf SiddiqiCOMSATS, CIIT, Islamabad
A. RamananIIT, Delhi
S. NatarajanIISc, Bangalore
Aliya AbbasiHEJ Res. Inst. Chem. (ICCBS)
Bina S. SiddiquiHEJ Res. Inst. Chem. (ICCBS)
Fatima Z. BashaHEJ Res. Inst. Chem. (ICCBS)
Siti Fairus Mohd YusoffUniversiti Kebangsann Malaysia
Ahmed Akram AttariBiology, Bahauddin Zakariya University
Abida RehmanDept of Chemistry, Uni. of Cambridge, UK
Dr Zahid HussainDept of Chem. University of Karachi
Dr Sonia SiddiquiDr Panjwani Centre for Molecular Medicine and Drug Research, UoK
Dr Atia-tul-Wahab Dr Panjwani Centre for Molecular Medicine and Drug Research
Dr Sajid JahangirDept of Chemistry, Federal Urdu University
Dr Reaz UddinPanjwani Center (ICCBS)
Dr Sobia RanaDr Panjwani Center
Dr Uzma AshiqDept of Chemistry, University of Karachi, Pakistan
Dr Masooda QadriDept of Chemistry
Dr Samiyah TasleemDept of Microbiology, FUUAST, Karachi
S. Abid AliHEJ
Rifat Ara JamalDepartment of Chemistry, University of Karachi
Dr Huma Aslam BhattiICCBS
Dr Moaz ur RahmanNIBGE, Pak.
Dr Mumtaz AliDept of Chemistry, University of Malakand, Pakistan
Prof. Dr Sabire BegumICCBS, Univ. of Karachi
Dr Umar FarooqCOMSATS
Dr Syed Ghulam MusharrafICCBS
Dr Farhan A. KhanCOMSATS
Dr Abdul HameedICCBS
Dr Syed Tarique MoinICCBS
On behalf of all PhD students Mujeed-ur-RahmanICCBS, Karachi, Pakistan
Dr Achyut AdhilaiICCBS, Karachi, Pakistan