IYCr2014 Latin America Summit Declaration

The IYCr2014 Latin America Summit Declaration took the form of an Appeal letter, with 67 signatories, addressed to the President of the IUCr, Prof Marv Hackert and to the Regional Director of UNESCO, Prof Lidia Brito. This letter is published below.

[2014: Latin American Summit Meeting on Biological crystallography and complementary methods: Petition]
Initial signatories of the Summit Declaration. Seated at table (from left): Carlos Aguilar, Adriana Rojas, Richard Garratt, Alejandro Buschiazzo, Raul Padron, Alejandro Vila. Standing: Marvin Hackert (left) and Samar Hasnain (right).


24th September, 2014

Prof. Marvin Hackert
President, International Union of Crystallography

Prof. Lidia Brito
Regional Director, UNESCO

Dear Colleagues

We are pleased to report that the IYCr Latin America Summit Meeting on Biological Crystallography in Campinas, Brazil during September 22-24, 2014, has provided us an opportunity to extensively discuss and review the status of education and research in X-ray diffraction sciences in various countries in the region.

Over 100 senior researchers, early career researchers, post-doctoral fellows and students from 12 countries have participated in the event including a number of well established scientists in the North (Europe and USA) with origins in the region. The reflections from these scientists regarding the level of regional collaboration indicated that this is clearly sub-optimal, suggesting the need to take immediate action.

Many of us were engaged in extensive discussions focusing on the promotion of regional and international cooperation in the field of X-ray crystallography and complementary methods, in line with the objectives of the International Year of Crystallography.  These discussions were consistent with recent efforts leading to the founding of the Latin American Crystallographic Association (LACA).  The venue, being the home of the first synchrotron light source in the southern hemisphere, was fitting, and served also to highlight the ambitions of the region in constructing one of the world's most sophisticated, 4th generation light source, Sirius, before the end of the decade.

Through this letter, we request the IUCr and UNESCO to initiate actions to promote regional scientific collaboration including the holding of training workshops, encouraging the mobility of researchers within the region, promoting joint research projects, leveraging national bodies and institutions for financial support and facilitating regional conferences on the subject of X-ray crystallography and its applications in Latin America. 

We also request the IUCr to facilitate the establishment of a "Latin American IYCr Cooperation Fund". We, as a community representative of our region, commit to persuade our academies, funding agencies and/or governments to provide annual contributions which are commensurate with each country’s economic reality. Our aim is to raise US $100K per annum for this fund. We request IUCr to provide encouragement by making an initial commitment of US $20K per annum for 3 years. We request IUCr/UNESCO to manage these funds.

The funds will be used for a variety of actions including: 

  1. increasing collaboration and cooperation among scientists of the region,
  2. providing seed money for up to 2 projects per annum involving a minimum of 2 countries in the region, at least one of which should be well established in crystallography
  3. funding for short term visits (up to 3 months), primarily aimed towards an  Early Career Researcher, 
  4. training workshops at centres of excellence or emerging centres in the region, 
  5. enabling the sharing of facilities within the region. 

Signed by all those present from the region

Download the Summit declaration in PDF format
Mauricio BáezUniversidad de Chile, Chile
Daniel Guerra (Giraldez)Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia, Peru
Ricardo Cabrera (Paucar)Universidad de Chile, Chile
Sebastián KlinkeInstituto Leloir, Argentina
Alexei SoaresBrookhaven National Lab., USA
M. (Marcelo) CostabelUniversidad Nacional del Sur, Argentina
A. MechalyInstitut Pasteur, Uruguay
Claudener S. TeixeiraUniversidade (Federal) do Ceará, Brazil
João Paulo (Fernandes)Universidade de Brasília, Brazil
Juliana (Coutinho Gonçalves)Universidade Federal de Espirito Santo, Brazil
Bruna CamposLNBIO, Brazil
João BarbosaUniversidade de Brasília, Brazil
Bruno RochaUniversidade Fed. Ceará, Brazil
Plínio DelatorreUniversidade Fed. da Paraíba, Brazil
Lucia ChemesInstituto Leloir - UBA, Argentina
Carolina WilsonICB-USP / LNBio, Brazil
Carlos AguilarUniversidad Nacional de San Luis, Argentina
Luis BriebaLangebio - Cinvestav, Mexico
Ana Carolina ZeriLNBio / CNPEM, Brazil
Alejandro VilaIBR - Rosario, Argentina
A. BuschiazzoInst. Pasteur Montevideo, Uruguay
Iris TorrianiUniversity of Campinas, Brazil
Marcio DiasICB - USP, Brazil
David NevesUniversidade de Brasília, Brazil
Marin van HeelUniv. of Leiden, The Netherlands
Raúl PadronCentro de Biologia Estructural (CBE) - IVIC, Venezuela
Adriana RojasCIC bioGUNE, Spain
Eduardo HorjalesIFSC / USP, Brazil
Rodrigo PortugalLNNano / CNPEM, Brazil
Marcos NavarroUSP - IFSC, Brazil
Leopoldo SuescunUniversidad de la República, Montevideo, Uruguay
João Renato MunizPhysics Institute of São Carlos, Brazil
Rafael VC GuidoPhysics Institute of São Carlos, Brazil
Andre LB AmbrosioLNBio / CNPEM, Brazil
Roberto SalinasInstitute of Chemistry, USP, Brazil
Adela Rodriguez RomeroInstituto de Química, UNAM, Mexico
Enrique Rudiño PiñeraInstituto de Biotecnologia, UNAM, Mexico
Pedro AlzariInstitut Pasteur, Paris, France
Maximiliano FigueroaCIGAR, University of Liege, Belgium
Santiago JA FigueroaLNLS - CNPEM, Brazil
Jorge IulekUniversidade Estadual de Ponta Grossa, Brazil
Robson (Rodrigo Miranda)Univ. Est. de Ponta Grossa, Brazil
Kishore Reddy (Mandapati)UNICAMP, Brazil
Miguel Angel MartínezUniversidad Nacional de Asunción, Paraguay
Anna LurcICB - USP, Brazil
Ivan Rosa e SilvaIFSC - USP, Brazil
Guilherme Henrique Marchi SalvadorIBB - UNESP - Botucatu, Brazil
Fabio F. CardosoIBB - UNESP - Botucatu, Brazil
Diego LeonardoIFSC - USP, Brazil
Patricia FelicianoFCFRP - USP, Brazil
Matías FuentealbaUniversidad de Chile, Chile
Alain Monsalve (Mera)IFSC - USP, Brazil
Ariadna Juarez (Martinez)IBT - UNAM - UACM, Mexico
Igor Monteze FerreiraLNBio - CNPEM, Brazil
Valeria ScorsatoIQ - UniCAMP, Brazil
Alma Yazmin Fuentes PascacioCINVESTAV - LANGEBIO, Mexico
Maria Natalia LisaInstitut Pasteur, Paris, France
Amanda BernardesIFSC - USP, Brazil
Adriana RojasCIC bioGUNE, Spain
Juan FauteuilleCEA, France
Felipe TrajtenbergInstitut Pasteur, Monevideo, Uruguay
Germán SeroIQ - USP (São Paulo), Brazil
Camila C. PascoalLNBio / CNPEM, Brazil
Anwar UllahUNESP / IBILCE, Brazil
Agnes (Machado)Universidad Ponta Grossa, Brazil
Lisandro OteroLeloir Insitute Foundation, Argentina
Richard GarattUSP - Inst Física São Carlo, Brazil