South Korea commemorative stamp issue

The Korean Crystallographic Association has been involved in the design of three postage stamps to celebrate the International Year of Crystallography. The designs show respectively:

  • the structure of the Ribosome 50S subunit as determined by X-ray crystallography, a result that was recognised by the 2009 award of the Nobel Prize to V. Ramakrishnan, T. A. Steitz and A. Yonath;
  • an X-ray diffraction image superimposed on a montage of images of crystal structures, diffraction patterns and crystallographers;
  • and a typographic motif representing a diffraction pattern, incorporating the Yin-Yang symbol that appears on the Korean national flag and picking out individual letters from an underlying text about the International Year of Crystallography.
[postage stamp] [postage stamp] [postage stamp]

Contact Chan Park
Category postage stamps